Home · Blog · Kids & Transfer Factor
For Parents

Can Kids Take Transfer Factor Max? What 4Life Actually Offers for Children

TransferFactorMax.com Editorial Team Updated August 21, 2026 10-min read

The short version

4Life Transfer Factor Max is an adult daily immune supplement from 4Life Research USA, LLC of Sandy, Utah, sold in 120-capsule bottles at a serving of four vegetable capsules a day. Its published product information carries a serving size, a full ingredient list, directions to take it with 8 oz of water and food — and no statement about children at any age. That silence is the honest starting point for this article, and it turns out to be more informative than it first looks.

Because 4Life clearly does make pediatric statements when it means to. Three products in the same transfer factor family carry explicit ages on their labels. Max is not one of them. Below is what each product actually says, why the difference exists, and what to bring to your child's pediatrician before you buy anything.

Key facts at a glance

Max age label
None published by 4Life — no minimum age stated on the product page
Max serving
Four (4) vegetable capsules daily with 8 oz water and food · 120 capsules = 30 servings
Kids' options
Transfer Factor Chewable (ages 2+) · RiteStart Kids & Teens (ages 2+) · RioVida Chews (ages 4+)
Common allergens
Cow colostrum (milk) in all four; chicken egg yolk in all four
Zinc in Max
90% of the adult Daily Value ≈ 10 mg per serving · none added in Chewable or RioVida Chews
Manufacturer
4Life Research USA, LLC · Sandy, Utah · NSF and cGMP-certified facility

The short answer, and why it's short

No — not as 4Life sells it. Transfer Factor Max is an adult product with an adult serving, and the company has not published pediatric guidance for it. Anyone telling you a specific child's dose of Max is making it up; there is no published number to quote.

That is a narrower statement than "Transfer Factor Max is unsafe for children," and we want to keep the two apart. No safety trial of the finished Max formula has been published in any age group, children included. What exists is an absence of a label statement, plus a formula whose individual components are dosed against adult reference values. Those are reasons to choose a different product, not evidence of harm.

"No age on the label" is not a loophole. It's the manufacturer declining to make a claim it hasn't supported.

What 4Life actually says about age — product by product

Here is the comparison, drawn from 4Life's own published product pages as of August 2026. The age column is the whole point of the table.

4Life transfer factor products · stated age and formula

Product Stated age Form & serving Transfer factor sources Added vitamins / minerals / botanicals
Transfer Factor Max None stated 4 vegetable capsules daily · 120 per bottle Tri-Factor blend (UltraFactor, OvoFactor, NanoFactor) plus plant-based PhytoFactor Zinc (90% adult DV), vitamin C, high-potency vitamin D, IP-6, Super-Mushroom Blend, oats, baker's yeast
Transfer Factor Chewable Tri-Factor Ages 2 and up 3 citrus-cream chewable tablets daily · 90 per bottle Tri-Factor blend (UltraFactor, OvoFactor, NanoFactor) None added
RiteStart Kids & Teens Ages 2 and up 2 or 4 strawberry chewable tablets daily by age · 120 per bottle Tri-Factor blend (UltraFactor, OvoFactor, NanoFactor) 22 essential vitamins and minerals plus choline
RioVida Chews Ages 4 and up 2 individually wrapped soft chews (5 g each) daily · 30 per bag UltraFactor, OvoFactor, NanoFactor 90 mg vitamin C; blueberry, açaí, pomegranate and elderberry juice concentrates
Source: 4Life Research published product pages, retrieved August 21, 2026. Formulas and labels change — the Supplement Facts panel on the bottle in your hand is authoritative over any summary here.*

Read that first column against the second and the pattern is unmistakable. The three products 4Life labels for children all carry the Tri-Factor blend and stop there, or stop after adding ordinary nutritional support. The one product with no age statement is the one carrying a mineral at 90% of an adult Daily Value, a high-potency fat-soluble vitamin, a phytate-based immune activator and four mushroom extracts.

Why Max reads as an adult formula — four specifics

We would rather show the reasoning than assert a conclusion. Four things separate Max from the kid-labeled products, and only one of them is about transfer factor at all.

The zinc, and the arithmetic that follows

4Life states the zinc in Max supplies 90% of the Daily Value, which is roughly 10 mg per four-capsule serving against an 11 mg adult DV. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements sets the Tolerable Upper Intake Level for zinc at 7 mg for ages 1–3, 12 mg for 4–8, 23 mg for 9–13 and 34 mg for 14–18. One adult serving would exceed the toddler limit outright and eat most of the 4–8 limit before a single meal, fortified cereal or multivitamin is counted. Neither Chewable nor RioVida Chews contains added zinc.Documented

A "high-potency" vitamin D whose amount isn't published

4Life describes the vitamin D in Max as high-potency cholecalciferol but does not publish the microgram or IU figure on the product page. Pediatric upper limits for vitamin D are meaningfully lower than the adult figure — 2,500 IU for ages 1–3 and 3,000 IU for 4–8, against 4,000 IU from age nine. An undisclosed amount of a fat-soluble vitamin is a poor thing to guess at for a small body. The Supplement Facts panel on the bottle carries the real number.Not disclosed online

IP-6 and the Super-Mushroom Blend have no pediatric dosing

Shiitake, cordyceps, maitake and agaricus blazei extracts, plus inositol hexaphosphate, are the ingredients that make Max the broad-spectrum formula it is. They are also the ingredients with essentially no published pediatric dosing literature. Reference resources such as Memorial Sloan Kettering's About Herbs database catalogue adult interactions for maitake and cordyceps and simply have nothing to say about children.Unknown

The delivery format itself

Four vegetable capsules with 8 oz of water is a big ask for a seven-year-old, and it is not incidental — 4Life's kid-labeled products are all chewables or soft chews for exactly this reason. Note the flip side: chewable tablets and soft chews carry their own choking consideration for the youngest children, which is worth raising with a pediatrician even at a labeled age of two.Practical

Which product fits which child

If you came here because you take Max yourself and want your child on something comparable, this is the practical part.

If your child already takes a multivitamin and you only want to add transfer factor, Transfer Factor Chewable Tri-Factor Formula is the closest honest match to what you're taking. It carries the same UltraFactor, OvoFactor and NanoFactor blend that sits at the center of Max, in a citrus-cream tablet, at three tablets a day, stated for ages two and up. It has no added zinc, no vitamin D, no mushrooms — which is precisely why it can carry an age.

If your child takes no multivitamin and you'd rather not run two bottles, RiteStart Kids & Teens combines the same Tri-Factor blend with 22 essential vitamins and minerals plus choline, in a strawberry chewable, also stated for ages two and up. Its serving is two or four tablets depending on age, so read the panel. Do not run RiteStart and a separate children's multivitamin at the same time without checking the overlap — that is how families accidentally double a fat-soluble vitamin.

If the problem is that your child won't take a tablet at all, RioVida Chews are individually wrapped berry soft chews stated for ages four and up, with 90 mg of vitamin C and four fruit juice concentrates alongside the transfer factor. At two chews per serving and 30 chews per bag, a bag is a 15-day supply, which makes it the priciest of the three per day — but it is also the one a reluctant child will actually finish.

On pricing, plainly

4Life's published retail prices as of August 21, 2026 are $111 for Transfer Factor Max, $63 for Transfer Factor Chewable, $63 for RiteStart Kids & Teens and $34 for RioVida Chews. Through a MyShop storefront the price is lower — Max is $94 and Chewable is $54 on Kaleb Moore's storefront, both verified today. We haven't independently verified the MyShop price on the other two, so check the storefront rather than trusting a number from us.

We earn a commission on purchases made through that storefront — see our affiliate disclosure. It has not changed a word of the recommendation above, and you'll notice the product we're steering parents toward costs less than the one this site is named after.

The allergen conversation comes first

Before age, before dose, before price: every product in this article contains milk-derived and egg-derived protein by design. UltraFactor and NanoFactor are concentrates from cow colostrum. OvoFactor is a concentrate from chicken egg yolk. That is not a manufacturing contaminant to be engineered around — it is the source of the transfer factor itself.

Milk and egg are two of the most common food allergens in early childhood. If your child has a diagnosed or suspected allergy to either, the entire 4Life transfer factor line is off the table until an allergist says otherwise, and no age statement changes that. We cover the allergen question for the adult formula in more depth in our guide to Transfer Factor Max side effects, safety and drug interactions.

What the science does — and doesn't — say about children

The transfer factor concept dates to 1949, when H. Sherwood Lawrence demonstrated that a cell-free extract from one person's white blood cells could transfer delayed-type skin sensitivity to another. That is the foundation the whole category rests on, and it says nothing about pediatric supplementation.

The most-cited modern study behind 4Life's core claim — the 2024 feasibility trial by Yu, Iloba, Cruickshank and Jensen in Current Issues in Molecular Biology, which reported immune-marker changes within two hours of a single dose — was conducted in adults. It is a small feasibility trial, it was company-supported and run through an independent lab, and its participants were not children. Nothing in it can be stretched to a pediatric dose.Peer-reviewed, adults only

We would rather say that plainly than build a paragraph that sounds like pediatric evidence. If you'd like the fuller picture of what the underlying research does and doesn't establish, we walk through it in the three clinical studies behind Transfer Factor Max.

What to ask the pediatrician

A labeled minimum age tells you what a manufacturer intends. It doesn't tell you what's right for your particular child. Five questions worth writing down:

Bring the actual Supplement Facts panel with you — a photo on your phone is enough. It answers questions this page can't, including the vitamin D amount.

Transfer Factor Max — for the adults in the house

The full 900 mg formula, at the MyShop price. For the kids, browse the chewables on the storefront instead.

Get Max · $94 MyShop Price

Frequently asked questions

Can children take 4Life Transfer Factor Max?
4Life does not market Transfer Factor Max for children. Its product page states no minimum age, gives a single adult serving of four vegetable capsules, and expresses its zinc content as a percentage of the adult Daily Value. For a child, the labeled options in the same product family are 4Life Transfer Factor Chewable Tri-Factor Formula and RiteStart Kids & Teens (both stated for ages two and up) and RioVida Chews (stated for ages four and up). Talk to your child's pediatrician before starting any supplement.*
What is the minimum age for Transfer Factor Max?
4Life publishes no minimum age for Transfer Factor Max. That is not the same as saying it is approved for everyone — it means the manufacturer has not made a pediatric statement, so there is no labeled age to rely on. By contrast, 4Life states an explicit age on three of its other transfer factor products, which shows the company does make those statements when it intends a product for children.
Which 4Life transfer factor product is made for kids?
Three are labeled for children. 4Life Transfer Factor Chewable Tri-Factor Formula is a citrus-cream chewable tablet stated for ages two and up. RiteStart Kids & Teens is a strawberry chewable that adds 22 vitamins and minerals plus choline, also stated for ages two and up. RioVida Chews are individually wrapped berry soft chews stated for ages four and up, with 90 mg of vitamin C and four fruit juice concentrates.
Can a 2-year-old take 4Life Transfer Factor?
4Life states ages two and up for both Transfer Factor Chewable Tri-Factor Formula and RiteStart Kids & Teens. It states no age for Transfer Factor Max. A labeled age is a manufacturer statement, not a substitute for pediatric advice — chewable tablets also carry a choking consideration at that age, so check with your child's pediatrician first.
Can a 4-year-old take Transfer Factor Max?
There is no labeled age for Transfer Factor Max at four or at any other age. Separately, the arithmetic argues against it: Max supplies roughly 10 mg of zinc per serving (90% of the 11 mg adult Daily Value), and the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements sets the Tolerable Upper Intake Level for zinc at 7 mg for ages 1–3 and 12 mg for ages 4–8. One adult serving would exceed the 1–3 limit outright and consume most of the 4–8 limit before any food or other supplement is counted. RioVida Chews are the 4Life product labeled for ages four and up.
Is Transfer Factor Chewable the same formula as Transfer Factor Max?
No. Chewable contains the Tri-Factor blend — UltraFactor from cow colostrum, OvoFactor from chicken egg yolk, and NanoFactor from nanofiltered cow colostrum. Transfer Factor Max contains that same Tri-Factor blend plus plant-based PhytoFactor, and adds zinc, vitamin C, high-potency vitamin D, IP-6 and a Super-Mushroom Blend. Chewable is the transfer factor without the adult-dosed extras. Our PhytoFactor explainer covers what the plant-based addition contributes.
Can I give my child a half dose of Transfer Factor Max?
We would not, and neither the label nor any published pediatric dosing supports it. Halving the capsules halves the milligrams, but it does not create a pediatric dose — the vitamin D amount is not published online, and IP-6 and the Super-Mushroom Blend have no established pediatric dosing at all. Dividing an adult product is guesswork dressed up as arithmetic. Use a product 4Life has actually labeled for a child's age, and confirm it with a pediatrician.
Does Transfer Factor Max contain milk or egg?
Yes. The Tri-Factor blend is built from cow colostrum (UltraFactor and NanoFactor) and chicken egg yolk (OvoFactor), which means milk-derived and egg-derived protein are in the formula by design. The same is true of Transfer Factor Chewable, RiteStart Kids & Teens and RioVida Chews. If your child has a milk or egg allergy, this is the first conversation to have, before any discussion of age or dose.
How much zinc is in Transfer Factor Max, and does that matter for a child?
4Life states the zinc in Transfer Factor Max provides 90% of the adult Daily Value, which works out to roughly 10 mg per four-capsule serving. Against the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements upper limits — 7 mg for ages 1–3, 12 mg for 4–8, 23 mg for 9–13 and 34 mg for 14–18 — that single number is the clearest reason the formula reads as an adult product. Transfer Factor Chewable and RioVida Chews contain no added zinc.
Can teenagers take Transfer Factor Max?
The zinc arithmetic stops flagging in the teen years — the upper limit is 34 mg for ages 14–18, well above the roughly 10 mg in a serving. But 4Life still publishes no age statement for Max, and the vitamin D amount is not disclosed online, so a teenager remains an off-label use of an adult product. It is a reasonable question for a pediatrician, and not one this page can answer for you.
RiteStart Kids & Teens or Transfer Factor Chewable — which should I choose?
Both are stated for ages two and up. Choose Transfer Factor Chewable if your child already takes a multivitamin and you only want the transfer factor. Choose RiteStart Kids & Teens if you want the transfer factor and the multivitamin in one tablet — it carries 22 essential vitamins and minerals plus choline, and its serving changes from two to four tablets depending on age. Doubling up on both at once risks stacking the same vitamins twice.
Do I need to ask a pediatrician before giving my child a transfer factor product?
Yes, and it is worth doing properly. Bring the actual Supplement Facts panel, name the milk and egg content directly, list every other supplement and medication your child takes so vitamins and minerals are not counted twice, and ask specifically about any condition affecting the immune system. A labeled minimum age tells you what the manufacturer intends; it does not tell you what is right for your particular child.

Sources and further reading

  1. 4Life Research USA, LLC — 4Life Transfer Factor Max product page. Serving size four vegetable capsules; zinc stated at 90% of the daily recommended amount; vitamin D described as high-potency cholecalciferol without a published amount; no age statement. Retrieved August 21, 2026.
  2. 4Life Research USA, LLC — 4Life Transfer Factor Chewable Tri-Factor Formula product page. "For ages two and up"; three tablets daily; 30 servings per container. Retrieved August 21, 2026.
  3. 4Life Research USA, LLC — RiteStart Kids & Teens product page. "Ages two and up"; 22 essential vitamins and minerals plus choline; serving of two or four chewable tablets depending on age. Retrieved August 21, 2026.
  4. 4Life Research USA, LLC — RioVida Chews product page. "Safe for ages four and up"; two soft chews per serving, 15 servings per container; 90 mg vitamin C. Retrieved August 21, 2026.
  5. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Zinc: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Tolerable Upper Intake Levels for zinc: 7 mg (ages 1–3), 12 mg (4–8), 23 mg (9–13), 34 mg (14–18), 40 mg (19+). Adult Daily Value 11 mg.
  6. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Tolerable Upper Intake Levels: 2,500 IU (ages 1–3), 3,000 IU (4–8), 4,000 IU (9 and older).
  7. Yu, L.; Iloba, I.; Cruickshank, D.; Jensen, G.S. (2024). Feasibility Trial Exploring Immune-Related Biomarkers Pertaining to Rapid Immune Surveillance and Cytokine Changes after Consuming a Nutraceutical Supplement Containing Colostrum- and Egg-Based Low-Molecular-Weight Peptides. Current Issues in Molecular Biology, 46, 6710–6724. Conducted in adult participants; company-supported, run through an independent laboratory.
  8. Lawrence, H.S. (1949). The transfer in humans of delayed skin sensitivity to streptococcal M substance and to tuberculin with disrupted leucocytes. Proceedings of the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine, 71, 516–522. The original description of transfer factor.
  9. Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Integrative Medicine Service — Maitake (About Herbs database). Consulted for documented adult interactions; no pediatric dosing established.
  10. 4Life Satisfaction / Shipping & Returns policy — 30-day money-back guarantee terms.

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are dietary supplements and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This article summarizes publicly available product information from the manufacturer alongside third-party nutrient reference material. It is educational content, not medical advice, and it is not a diagnosis, a safety clearance, or a substitute for consultation with a qualified pediatric healthcare professional. Nothing here should be read as a recommendation to give any supplement to a child. A manufacturer's stated minimum age indicates the age group a product is intended for; it is not a clinical finding and does not establish safety or benefit for an individual child. Consult your child's pediatrician before starting any supplement, particularly if your child has a food allergy, an autoimmune or immune-related condition, or takes prescription medication. Stop use and consult a professional if a reaction occurs. Prices and formulas change without notice; the Supplement Facts panel and warnings on your own bottle are authoritative over any summary here.

NSF
Certified Facility
cGMP
Compliant
Non-GMO
Verified
Made in USA
Sandy, Utah
30-Day
Money-Back Guarantee